top of page

Curtains



I bought translucent curtains

Because I like to wake with the sun


Streaming through my windows

We stretch and rise as one


At night I like to sleep

Just beneath the stars


The moon watches over me

As do Venus and Mars


I let the midday light in

And forgo the switch on the wall


I dance around my room

Watch as my shadows grow tall


I love my translucent curtains

But once my sister quirked a brow


“The world can see you through those,”

she chided, “that’s something you can’t allow.”


She reasoned people would watch me dress

Steal my privacy with a stare


She warned me about the danger

Of not knowing what sort of creeps are out there


But I loved my curtains so

And as the sun began to sink


I straightened my shoulders and raised my chin

Didn’t even blink


I drew a breath and used my voice

Uncaring when it shook


“I shouldn’t have to change my curtains.

The world just shouldn’t look.”


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A List

bottom of page