top of page

Dress Coded

As warm weather approaches, our school deemed it appropriate to run a refresher course of our dress code, whilst introducing a new and “improved” set of rules. Not only do I think it was an arbitrary use of work time, it also reminded me of how much I absolutely loathe the idea of a dress code. They managed to create a mix of all the greatest hits including but not limited to, “no exposed back, shoulders or midriff”, “no bandanas because we fear you're all gang members” and “no tank tops because we must keep a distraction free work environment”.


Now granted I understand that our administration is just looking out for everyone as a whole, or so they believe, but can we be real? Dress codes freaking suck. They're all objectively flawed, intentionally sexist, and only enforced when there are personal vendettas involved between any said student and teacher. When having a brief discussion with a teacher about our dress code, they said that it is a way to maintain professionalism and that girls didn't need to “dress like sluts anyway.” This grotesque remark not only fueled my hate fire, but got me thinking. What is it about the female body that is unprofessional? What is it about shoulders that people find so distracting? Why is it more important to police girls into being ashamed of their bodies than letting them pursue their education without judgment? The answer is nothing. Nothing is unprofessional about wearing shorts when it's hot, nothing is unprofessional about the connecting joints of your arms and back. Nothing is more important than an education. I've asked these questions so many times and never have I received an answer. No one has been able to explain to me how abiding the dress code had a direct impact on my learning. That's because it doesn't. What I wear has nothing at all to do with my mind, my ability to concentrate, to learn new information, to prioritize, and to think critically. Instead, what I wear has everything to do with the image the school wants to present, which is of one of a nice, clean, well-behaved student body. It has everything to do with what you will and won't see when you walk into my classroom. Rain or shine, -20° to 110°, modesty over comfort, modesty over learning, modesty over functionality.


I understand the reasoning behind a dress code. School is meant to prepare you for the world of adulthood, which is full of restrictions, including what is deemed “appropriate attire.” But shouldn’t an institute of learning’s job be to challenge stereotypes and the objectification of women’s bodies, rather than perpetuating the relationship between how you look and your value as a person? Clothing is an expression of individuality, and when all you hear is “this is what you have to wear” it begins to sound like “this is who you have to be.”



119 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

numbers

Due to my laptop deciding it was time to pass on into the afterlife I have not been able to post in the most recent century. But I am here now, figuring out how to use Google docs on my phone. It isn'

bottom of page