top of page

Unicorns Aren't Real

Alright people, I am sorry to be the bearer of bad news but I have to tell you. Unicorns aren’t real, nor mermaids or faires. It’s just the harsh reality we live in and it’s time to come to terms with it. Perfect things like that don’t exist, just like perfect figures, perfect people, and perfect lives don’t exist. We are not the expectations set out for us, we are human.

Females were not built to have a flat stomach, a huge ass and perfect eyebrows. People were not made to look like walking Instagram pictures, with perfect lighting, perfect angles and just the right amount of Photoshop. You were made to look like a human. Stop obsessing over your makeup and weight long enough to just breathe. Take one minute to just breathe. I will admit that I held my breath throughout most of my early teens. I choked on the impossible beauty standards set out for every girl and woman on earth, struggling to find a place where I would be considered perfect. Little did I know, that place didn’t exist.


I wish people would stop associating the word beautiful with the word perfect. You cannot be perfect, but you can sure as hell be beautiful. I can’t think of one girl I know who I don’t admire for her beauty. That’s because beauty isn’t always about how you look. It’s about how you carry yourself, the amount of confidence you have when you are doing things you love. The passion you feel when you talk about the things you believe in. The kindness you show others. It is so much more than the skin deep definition it has being given.  So when you start to look at yourself in the mirror and pick apart every flaw in the body you are so lucky to have, I want you to remember it doesn’t matter how you carry your weight, it only matters how you carry yourself. Every skin deep imperfection is so futile to your existence that if you spend more than a second focusing on it, you are wasting your own precious time. For once, just let yourself be enough. Focus on the things you are blessed with and come to terms with the things you can’t change. For once, let being a human with a kind heart and a good soul be enough for you and everyone else. If people don’t like they way you are, let them go. It’s not your fault they are chasing after unicorns when you are pure gold. 

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

numbers

Due to my laptop deciding it was time to pass on into the afterlife I have not been able to post in the most recent century. But I am here now, figuring out how to use Google docs on my phone. It isn'

bottom of page