top of page

the voice

i have two levels of knowledge when it comes to eating, and while both of them are pretty complicated they both have simple names: “the voice is good” and “the voice is bad.”


the voice is both my worst enemy and my best friend.


she’s been following me around since i was eight years old- when i learned that my body was a terrible thing.


the voice is good because

i’m making progress

people think i look pretty

if i lose weight then things will become better for me

everyone has been looking out for my comfort, the voice doesn’t do that

she tells me the truth about how ugly i am

i don’t want to hear the lies that i tell myself

because i want to eat and she won’t let me

i want to eat and the voice tells me that eating is bad, she fights my instincts

my instincts let me overeat, but she doesn’t

she helps me fight the pain of hunger by telling me how beautiful i’ll be

she doesn’t make me feel bad about my sickness

the numbers will go down faster if i listen to her

i want to be skinny



the voice is bad because

i want to be normal again

i don’t want to look at food like it could kill me in an instant

the line between skinny and fat is too fine, and i won’t stop if she’s guiding me

she doesn’t care about anything logical, only being thin

my body shouldn’t be my enemy

my parents and my friends are worried about me

i don’t want to feel this way

everything she says is a lie and i will never be able to trust her

if i let her get any louder than the rest of the world will be drowned out


i know that she isn’t good for me

but she feels so good that i really can’t tell


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page